Call for Papers


  • Call for Papers
  • Awards
CSW has a long tradition of honoring some of the top researchers in the field of compound semiconductors. The awards are given to the most outstanding researchers. The nomination deadline, which was originally Mar. 18, 2023, has been extended to Mar. 31, 2023, and the nomination form can be downloaded as below.

Welker Award

The Welker Award was established in 1976 by Siemens AG in honor of Heinrich Welker, the pioneer in the field of III-V compound semiconductors. The award is given away for outstanding research in III-V compound semiconductors.

Quantum Devices Award

The Quantum Devices Award was initiated by Fujitsu Quantum Devices Ltd. in 2000 and is now sponsored by the Japanese section of the ISCS steering committee. The Award honors pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices including physics and epitaxial growth.

IPRM Award

The IPRM Award was initiated by the Indium Phosphide and Related Materials (IPRM) Conference in 1993, as The Michael Lunn Award. During the first three years following its introduction (1993-1995), the award was given for the best paper presented at IPRM. The award criteria were revised in 1996 to recognize individuals who have made “outstanding contributions to the InP community”. In 2007, the award was renamed the IPRM Award and has since been sponsored by the IPRM international steering committee to recognize individuals or organizations who have made an outstanding contribution to the InP and related materials community, especially in the areas of materials growth, integrated photonic components, and high-frequency electronics.

ISCS Young Scientist Award

Established in 1986, the ISCS Young Scientist Award acknowledges technical achievements in the field of compound semiconductors by a scientist younger than 40 years.

CSW Best Student Paper Award

The CSW Best Student Paper Award was established for students who present their work as speakers or poster presenters. The award is open only to students who are officially registered at a university by the abstract submission deadline. Awardees will be selected by members of the program committee based on abstract content and presentation quality. All papers with registered students as the first authors will enter the competition. Student award applicants are strongly encouraged to attend the award ceremony.